Clerk resumes in-person services at the Justice Center with increased safety measures. Our Recording Office is providing services remotely. Click here to learn more. Please note masks are required in our buildings.
Do we need to bring proof of pre-marital course completion when we apply for a marriage license?
Yes, the 3-day waiting period will be waived, and the fee will be reduced to $61 if you are both Florida residents and provide proof of 4-hour course completion with a registered counselor.
When does the three day waiting period start?
The waiting period starts on the day after you get the license. For example, if you get the license on Monday, it could not be used until Thursday.
Can I obtain a discount on my marriage license by taking a pre-marital course at my church or with a family counselor?
Yes, the fee will be reduced to $61 if both applicants are Florida residents and provide proof of 4-hour course completion with a registered counselor.
Does a counselor have to register with the Lee Co. Clerks Office?
Yes, they may access our website to complete the form and mail it to our Office.
Can my officiant who is a notary in another state perform the service?
No, a notary can only marry within the state of which they are a notary.
Can my officiant who is a minister in another state perform the service?
Yes, a minister can marry anywhere.
Who can perform the marriage ceremony?
The following may perform marriage ceremonies per Florida Statute 741.07.
A regularly ordained minister or other ordained clergy
Elders in communion with some church
All judicial officers/judges
Clerks of Circuit Court and their deputies
A Florida Notary Public, which may include family members
Can a ship Captain marry us?
No, ship Captains cannot officiate weddings. Sea captains in the United States cannot now and have not ever been able to perform marriages at sea or anywhere else, unless they also happen to be recognized ministers or justice of the peace.
I’m 17 years old; can I apply for a marriage license?
Florida Statute 741.04 has been amended: Effective 7/1/2018 it states that you must be 17 years old and have parental consent in order to apply for a marriage license. The older person to the marriage cannot be more than 2 years older than the 17 year old. Please call our office at 239-533-5007 to get additional information and find out what forms are required.
If I was married in another country, is my marriage license good in the United States?
Florida recognizes marriages outside of the United States. You may get a certified translation from a translator if you need to show proof of your marriage.
Do I need to take a blood test before getting married?
No, blood tests are not conducted.
Can I get married at the Clerk of Courts Office?
Yes, an authorized Deputy Clerk of the Clerk of Courts Recording Department can perform the marriage ceremony between the hours of 8:00 AM and 4:30PM, Monday through Friday in the Fort Myers Office.
When can I come in to get my marriage license?
The hours to apply for a marriage license are from 8:00 AM to 4:30pm, Monday through Friday in the Fort Myers Office.
Can I marry my cousin?
Yes, in the state of Florida you can marry your cousin, starting at your first cousin.
Can I have a proxy marriage in Florida?
No, proxy marriages, which is when someone stands in for another person, are not permitted.
Does Florida recognize Common Law marriage?
No, Florida does not have common law marriage, but it recognizes them from other states.
Does Florida recognize Same Sex marriage?
Yes, as of January 6, 2015.
Can I take the premarital preparation course at the Clerk’s Office?
No. To waive the 3-day waiting period, couples must attend a course provided by a registered provider. View the list of Premarital Course Providers.
How can I become a premarital course provider for Lee County Clerk of Courts?
Where do I get copies of birth, death, marriage or divorce papers?
You can order a copy from the Department of Health, Office of Vital Statistics, P.O. Box 210, Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042. The physical street address is 210 Pearl Street. Copies of death, marriage or divorce papers are $5, and the cost for birth is $9. Visit the DOH website for more information.