Our offices will be closed Monday, May 29 in observance of Memorial Day.

About the Courts Department

The Courts Department is a vital part of the local court system. Comprised of five divisions, this office is responsible for four main functions:

  1. Act as clerk to the courts;
  2. Complete all case processing and docketing functions;
  3. Provide court financial assessment/collection support; and,
  4. Serve as the official record keeper.

These functions are supported for 150 case types that encompass civil, criminal, juvenile, and probate related matters. These activities require Clerk staff to collaborate with many local and state agencies, work within 15 different systems, and provide ministerial support to the public.

The Courts Department processes millions of dollars in court payments annually and accepts more than 2.7 million filed documents. These records are processed, indexed, and prepared to be heard by over 32 judicial officers in proceedings conducted daily.