News Releases

Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Lee County Clerk Earns Statewide Awards for Best Practices

Clerk Kevin Karnes Appointed to FCCC Board of Directors

Post Date:07/14/2023 8:23 AM

Lee County Clerk Kevin Karnes was recognized with 10 awards of excellence by the Florida Court Clerks & Comptrollers association for his office’s commitment to enhancing services in courts, records management and auditing.

The Clerk’s office was presented with an award of excellence in all of the state association’s Best Practices Excellence Program categories. The program evaluated and recognized Clerks in the following areas: appeals, court record retention and destruction, determination of indigency, evidence storage and destruction, exploitation of vulnerable adult injunction, guardianship audits, reporting mental health cases to state agencies, requests to redact exempt personal information, risk protection orders, and unclaimed funds.

The FCCC is a statewide, nonprofit organization comprised of Florida’s Clerks of the Circuit Court and Comptrollers. The FCCC’s Best Practices Excellence Program was established in 2020, and since that time, the Lee County Clerk’s office has received awards in all categories offered each year.

“These recognitions speak to the dedication and commitment of our entire team at the Lee Clerk’s office,” Karnes said. “I can’t thank our team members enough for all that they do each and every day to make our office the premier model of exceptional government.”

In addition to receiving certificates of excellence, the FCCC also appointed Karnes to its 2023-2024 Board of Directors. Karnes is the newest member of the 15-person board and will serve as director of district seven. All board members are elected county Clerks & Comptrollers. 

You can learn more about the Lee County Clerk’s office at

Karnes 2023

Photo caption: Clerk Karnes accepts the Best Practices Awards from 2022-23 FCCC President and Martin County Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller Carolyn Timmann and FCCC Best Practices Committee Vice Chair and Putnam County Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller Matt Reynolds.